How to distinguish cricket and baseball? (Part 3)

Number of Umpires / Referees

In a cricket match, there are 2 referees on the field. seball, there are up to 3 referees on the field.

Major tournament games use six referees; however, they may vary from 1 to 6 depending on the game.

Number of players

In a cricket match, there are 11 players in each team.

There are 9 or 10 depending on the tournament rules and the team’s decision in a baseball match.


International Cricket Council (ICC) is the main agency of cricket.

For baseball, there is International baseball federation.

Ball/yard that is allowed for each batsman

In cricket, it is limited only by the number of balls thrown in a match, depending on the oversized.

In baseball, there is no limit on the number of balls. The batter may continue to hit someone who is not attacking, walking, being hit by the court or hitting fair territory.

Maximum run scored by a ball/yard

In cricket, it may be recorded in one stroke.

In baseball, there are four bases

The order of hitting

Flexible, there is no set order for batsmen, however each person is only allowed one bat at a time.

Game reservation. The order of the batsmen is determined before starting the game.


In cricket, there are two innings per game, but may vary depending on the game.

Meanwhile, in baseball, there are nine innings per game.

Edge of field

In cricket, there is boundary (or boundary line).

In baseball, there are fences or walls extend beyond an area near dirt.

Participating countries

In cricket, there are United Kingdom, Australia, India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, South Africa, New Zealand, West India, Bangladesh, Zimbabwe, Kenya, Netherlands, Canada, Ireland, Scotland, Afghanistan, etc.

Countries participating in baseball include United States, Canada, Cuba, DR, Venezuela, Colombia, NL Antilles, So. Korea, China, Taipei China, Japan, Australia, New Zealand, Guam, Mexico, Taiwan, Nicaragua, Philippines, France, etc.